Product Reviews

PRESERVED SINGLE MONTEREY BONSAI IN SQUARE POT

Preserved Monterey Bonsai
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Recommended:4 out of 6(67%)said they would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PRESERVED SINGLE MONTEREY BONSAI IN SQUARE POT
Review 1 for PRESERVED SINGLE MONTEREY BONSAI IN SQUARE POT
Overall Rating: 
2 of 5
2 of 5
Anonymous
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Recommend?No
Date:November 30, 2013
Not as nice as expected
Unfortunately, the bonsai I received was not at all as nice-looking as the one pictured here. Mine is completely flat on the bottom, looking instead like someone whacked it off with hedge trimmers rather than the special sculptured and cultivated look of a normal bonsai.
Also, the trunk of the grapewood that it was grafted onto had a 1" stem on one side that was quite crudely hacked off, which makes the whole thing look pretty strange because a "real" bonsai would not have had a huge branch lopped off the one side.
In addition, I agree with the earlier reviewer: ours had a nasty chemical smell that took a couple of months to fully dissipate.
My review would increase to four stars if I had gotten a nice looking plant for the money I paid.
Review 2 for PRESERVED SINGLE MONTEREY BONSAI IN SQUARE POT
Overall Rating: 
2 of 5
2 of 5
Anonymous
Location:Harrisburg, PA
Recommend?No
Date:December 1, 2010
Looks great - but
This looks beautiful on a coffee table or shelf - but, unfortunately, the odor of the preserved bonsai is so strong that mine has ended up on a garage shelf. Maybe someday the odor will wear off.
Review 3 for PRESERVED SINGLE MONTEREY BONSAI IN SQUARE POT
Overall Rating: 
5 of 5
5 of 5
Anonymous
Location:Sedona, AZ
Recommend?Yes
Date:March 8, 2014
Lovely showcase piece
I LOVE the Monterey bonsai. For me, it reminds me of the Monterey coast, now that we're living in Arizona. The plant received looks very much like the image shown online, and had no odor (other than the fragrant juniper scent).
I do have one complaint: the shipper over-filled the box with the poured styrofoam, so it was not an easy task to get out of the packaging - the box had to be cut open on 3 sides, then the styrofoam ripped off in pieces in order not to damage the tree. Regardless, I would highly recommend this item.
Review 4 for PRESERVED SINGLE MONTEREY BONSAI IN SQUARE POT
Overall Rating: 
5 of 5
5 of 5
Anonymous
Location:In the United States
Recommend?Yes
Date:September 18, 2013
A Stunning piece of sculpure
I do wish to dispel the two star review by a reviewer who complained of a strong odor from her bonsai and condemned it thereafter to the garbage can.
This had to be some kind of a fluck which, I am sure, Gumps would have corrected had she only informed them. It is really terribly unfair to make these allegations. I have had my Gump's bonsai now for four years and it has been an enhancement to everything surrounding it.
I do hope others are not put off by this single review. By all means, purchase!
Review 5 for PRESERVED SINGLE MONTEREY BONSAI IN SQUARE POT
Overall Rating: 
5 of 5
5 of 5
Anonymous
Location:Louisiana
Recommend?Yes
Date:March 2, 2013
Beautiful for any room
It took a month to get this in, but it is really nice.
Much bigger than I expected. For sure not a rip off.
I think the preserved Bonsai will suit me well, since the last one I bought 20 years ago, I managed to kill.
I have to say after reading the review from another buyer, that it has no strong smell.
I bought this item and then read the review.
I was just going to let it sit out in the cool dry air for a few days to get the smell out, but I did not have to.
I am very pleased with this tree.
Review 6 for PRESERVED SINGLE MONTEREY BONSAI IN SQUARE POT
Overall Rating: 
5 of 5
5 of 5
Anonymous
Location:Gold River, CA
Recommend?Yes
Date:November 6, 2012
What a Conversation Piece
My Mother bought me a preserved Bonsai over 8 years ago, from Gumps & it is thriving It is a great centerpiece on our kitchen island. Multitudes of compliments from our quests & friends. We rinse it off 2-3 times a year in the kitchen sink. It is no fuss, no mess plant